interviews

Interview – Mélissa Chalhoub

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m 25 years old, and I’m based in Lebanon. I’ve studied filmmaking in Beirut, but now work as a painter and visual artist.

When you create, what inspires you?

When I start any work, I try to let the pen lead me, until I can see in the abstract lines on paper, something that speaks to me. I believe that all kinds of work are a reflection of their creator, so I try to let my subconscious show.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

The medium changes according to the feel, and vice versa. I mostly draw with black ink and paint with acrylics.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

What first started as something to do in class, turned out into a need, and it might be why I’ve chosen to create visually instead of other kinds of art. I don’t remember how it came to happen, because it’s always been part of me.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

There’s a lot of the unfairness that happens around us, but what mostly makes me angry is the feeling of powerlessness that comes with it. Being stuck and not able to change the injustices you witness.

melissa_chalhoub@hotmail.com
melissachalhoub.com


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Mélissa Chalhoub

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

