interviews

Interview – Rachael Gay

Emptiness by Rachael Gay over a portion of an image by Thomas Locke

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m someone who wears a lot of hats and switches between them frequently. I work as a barista and a freelance stage manager. I can’t pass a single day without creating something so I am constantly writing poetry and stories, creating collage art, and crocheting.

When you create, what inspires you?

My poetry acts as both my diary and a stream of consciousness. I take inspiration from both my past and my present. I also use creation as a way to work through difficult situations and to consider new ideas

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

“Emptiness” was inspired by the responses from anti-LGBT politicians following the Orlando Shooting in 2016. I was so infuriated by their hypocrisy that I wrote this piece.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

My medium of choice is poetry. I love the process of selecting just the right word or phrase to convey the message that I want to express. Though I use other mediums, there is nothing like poetry.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I’ve been a writer ever since I was three years old. I was always reading and wanted to start telling my own stories. Creating is such an addictive process as you can see the fruits of your labor and that has stuck with me for my whole life.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

Inequality is something that gets my blood boiling. We all have equal worth as human beings and I find it utterly repulsive that people are treated unequally because of the most asinine reasons.

rachaelgay.gay@gmail.com
witchinghourpoetry.tumblr.com


Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 11.

One thought on “Interview – Rachael Gay

  1. Pingback: issue 10 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

