interviews

Interview – Karis Strannemar

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a single Mom, who is also is a Grandma. I went back to college after age 50. I figure I have 50 more years to figure the rest of it out.

When you create, what inspires you?

Images sometimes come at the strangest times. I write them down when I get them and somehow they evolve into verse.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

“And this is why” is about the anger felt after my spouse left me. I had tried to play fair and be decent, but there wasn’t anything fair or decent about the end of the relationship.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I write verse.I have been doing it for 40 years.I have tried short stories and have parts of a novel, but for the most parts the words only come in small spurts. Imagine trying to think about something as a single parent with three children…it only can be in small spurts.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

My first love was cooking. It can be similar to writing poetry- because over time your taste changes as well as your point of view.Your vocabulary becomes the spices. You find yourself trying to recreate the feelings on paper to form a complete meal.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel anger?

I worked really hard when my marriage fell apart to take the anger I felt towards my brokenness into something positive. I would rather be angry than be in despair- as if I am angry I will do something about it.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

“Generally speaking, if a human being never shows anger, then I think something’s wrong. He’s not right in the brain.” –  The Dalai Lama

sirak98@gmail.com

Get your copy of issue 10!

Submit your work to issue 12.

Leave a Reply

