interviews

Interview – GJ Gillespie

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
My biggest strength is creativity. I tend to see new connections between phenomena and experiences that go unnoticed by others. Intuition and gut feelings are the final guide in decision making. My second-grade teacher complained that I day dreamed in class a lot. Currently after 32 years as a college communication professor I am failing at retiring.

When you create, what inspires you?
I study art pieces and post them on Pinterest. Usually I try to copy the feeling of a work by a great artist. Sometimes I dream of seeing a painting then try to capture the image in my art.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
In addition to the classical “Three Graces”, “The Way You Look Tonight” is inspired by German artist Anselm Kiefer who incorporates text with his figures. The lyrics for the Frank Sinatra song are embedded behind the images.

“Peggy Sue” is named after the 1950s Buddy Holly song and was based on the forms and colors of a Hans Hoffman painting. Lyrics read:
Peggy Sue, Peggy Sue
Oh how my heart yearns for you
Oh Peggy, my Peggy Sue
Oh well, I love you gal, yes, I love you Peggy Sue

What is your medium of choice? Why?
Collage gives me the freedom to move elements around and make changes quickly. Also, tissue and Japanese paper create translucence and a look that is unlike other mediums. Painted newspaper or clipped imagery from publications add texture and cultural immediacy.

How did you first discover your love for creating?
Finger painting in elementary school and building forts with blocks as a child. My wife’s artistic mentorship was a big influence.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?
One of the four fundamental forces in physics is gravity. We tend to orbit those things in our lives that have a pull on us. Beauty is a fundamental force in my life. I am moved to create by the contemplation of beauty where ever I find it.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
This artist sums up why I am attracted to art making.

“Art will remain the most astonishing activity of mankind born out of struggle between wisdom and madness, between dream and reality in our mind” – Magdalena Abakanowicz

gjgillespieartist.blogspot.com
garjog@hotmail.com


Get your copy of issue 11!

One thought on “Interview – GJ Gillespie

  1. Pingback: issue 11 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

