interviews

Interview – Marisha Thomas

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
My name is Marisha Thomas. I’m a Florida-born poet. I graduate from high school the day after this issue is published, and I’m going to school in California this fall. I’ve been published a few times before, in SPIT. and my school’s student-curated mag, Synapse. I just released my first chapbook, That Chill at Daybreak, which I hope to have online soon.
When you create, what inspires you?
A long time ago I stopped writing with intent and started writing from a feeling. But sometimes those feelings do expand from images, old books, my favorite poems, etc.
Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces. 
Low Tide in Charybdis was written for an assignment for my creative writing class. We were given 10 words (sun, time, love, hate, echo, spring, breath, hope, break and salt) that we were required to use, and I had several ideas stirring in my head at the time; lust, romance, and sea monsters.
What is your medium of choice? Why? 
I write poetry more than anything else. My brain seems hard-wired for poetry, but I’d like to write more fiction!
How did you first discover your love for creating? 
My mind has been hyperactive with the need to make things since I was very young. I liked writing class a lot in elementary school.
fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction? 
Attraction is immediate desire. I feel attraction when I’m not looking to.
Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
👍

marisha_thomas@yahoo.com


Get your copy of issue 11!

One thought on “Interview – Marisha Thomas

  1. Pingback: issue 11 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

