interviews

Interview – SEIGAR

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I consider myself a traveler and urban street photographer, always craving for reflections and saturated colors. My aim as a photographer is to tell tales with my camera, to capture moments but trying to give them a new frame and perspective. Travelling has always been my inspiration and it has given me the chance to work on sets based and organized on places or subject matters.

I create connections in my mind that help to group my pictures into series.  I won’t be happy with mere postcards from the towns I visit. The details and subject matters come to my camera once and once again, and I became obsessed with my plastic people displayed in shop windows. The use of reflections is the spice I add to them. Reflections are a constant in my work. They help me to show different layers and more complex images. I’m not afraid of imperfection or extreme visions. Most of the time, to be sincere, I feel it is good to display more and push boundaries. I want to provoke reactions, to transmit feelings or sensations. I’d say I just love the use of effects. The tittles of my sets are important to me; they connect the photos with a shared mood. I’ve always admired conceptual art and that is why, I try to bring that to my work too. I believe in the power of connecting photography and words, transform images into concepts.

When you create, what inspires you?

If I had to talk about inspiration, I would say any shop window can inspire me. I can frame the image into a story. As a street photographer and traveler, I find in urban settings my motives. I walk and walk waiting for the right instants. I find my subject matters there, I don’t need to look for them. I just run into my subjects. I have the strong belief that all my images are sort of inspired by the pop culture that has always been my main influence as a creator. Pop universe is huge for me, from musical icons like Madonna, Prince or Michael Jackson, to cinema craziness in Pedro Almodóvar, Alfred Hitchcock, Robert Aldrich, Lars von Trier and Tarantino movies, to the visual worlds of Frida Kahlo, Salvador Dalí, Pablo Picasso and Andy Warhol; they all have planted in me their personal and radical views about what art it. And I think when I find my plastic people, my lively colors, my instants and reflections I’m being honest to what I call my cultural roots, but adding my own salt.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

My plastic people aren’t just plastic. They live in my images. They show stories and tales. My plastic people just deserve R.E.S.P.E.C.T. Their identities and personalities come to live in my reflections’ works. As a beauty lover, little by little, they became my most ambitious project so far and my craze. They sometimes get naked and give me an individual feeling or emotion, but they can also show me worry about social issues. The three images I present for Felan Zine were taken in very different places: La Palma (Canary Islands), Edinburgh and London. First, In La Palma, I found this beauty queen probably moved by some nostalgia, some memoirs coming to her mind, but ready and prepared to live with her tiara. Then, in Edinburgh, I got the photo of this green model all broken, destroyed in a way, life can be hard, but though her body is in pieces, her face keeps her soul alive. Finally, in London, this powerful and strong look, coming out of the reflection, with this lady who plays with genre and identify with her beard, she is all about power and she is just there looking at straight into our eyes, connecting with the viewers. I’m sure people can read what she wants to say.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

It’s visual art. It’s photography. Specifically, it’s street and urban. Although I love words and writing, I feel them more like an accessory of my work. They make my images stronger. Words can make a visual art work. They complement each other. I’m satisfied with the matching I create in my mind about my sets and what they represent for me.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

Even though as a child I was always into creativity, imagining worlds, writing stories, drawing sketches of women clothing designs, feeling myself the main character of my favorite soap operas or even dancing on my own in my room to the moves of my pop icons… I would say that people around me found out first that I should do a creative work; they always encourage me to show what I am doing. Everything I have been into has always seemed to be pop, so I sort of think that is “ordinary” in life.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?

I feel attraction towards beauty. My ideal underlying my art is bringing beauty to the world or showing the world in a beautiful manner. I love beauty.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

My last project is a response to Ceal Floyer’s “Monochrome Till Receipt (White)” for a Summer Exhibition. I was so impressed with this conceptual piece of art, that I decided myself to give a response. I understand art as a form of communication. That is why; I planned this project, as an answer to her work. It consists of four till receipts and the four images of the products I bought (an ice-cream, a beach umbrella, a towel and flip-flops). I respect some of her rules from her masterpiece. The receipts/products are all from local shops in Tenerife where they are going to be exhibited, and it also plays with concepts like minimalism and conceptual art. However, trying to go further or give something new, I have added photography to the proposal. That is the technique I use in my works, so each of the four pieces shows a product related to the summer presented with both the receipt and the photograph. I also add a traditional frame to make it work together and also because I like the idea of a conventional wrap/case to my work.

I’m also into social event photography. I attend to parties, music festivals, drag contests, openings and closings of art exhibitions…etc.  I try to become part of the atmosphere, go around people and get the mood of what is going on into my pictures, and at the same time, being truthful to my style.

flickr.com/photos/theblueheartbeat/albums
seigar.tumblr.com
facebook/instagram: @jseigar


Get your copy of issue 11!

One thought on “Interview – SEIGAR

  1. Pingback: issue 11 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

