interviews

Interview – Sam Hafferty

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I love Miami so much, I have lived here my whole life. I am about to graduate high school. This fall I am going to the Gallatin School to study Metaphysics in Movies and Memes, because I love movies, stay woke, and want to be able to say I have a degree in Memes. I like listening to people’s dreams, the kind you have when you sleep. Dreams are also very important to me and I love to listen to other people’s dreams.

When you create, what inspires you?

Uh, I don’t think I can explain that yet.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted piece.

I was attending an overnight program in New York last month. One of the events planned for the evening was a dinner out. There, I sat across from a student who I, in the span of a few hours, had developed a crush on. We talked while eating for like, less than an hour, about dumb pop culture junk. My poem “Laughing With Lettuce” is kind of like an account of that situation from the point of view of my Facebook account.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I don’t have one. I feel like I don’t really get to choose what I end up making. I produce so inconsistently, in terms of time, medium, and meaning. I sometimes try to make something from my head on several different mediums before feeling like I have actually made something. Wait nevermind It’s Microsoft Paint.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I first felt comfortable in making things last summer probably. I had attempted to make many things before then but it never felt right. After attending a high school summer arts program, I met a bunch of really creative people that taught me how to feel good about experimenting in art.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?

I Want To Say Hormones.

bottomtext@aol.com


Get your copy of issue 11!

One thought on “Interview – Sam Hafferty

  1. Pingback: issue 11 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

