interviews

Interview – Stephen Thomas Roberts

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a practicing attorney, living in Dutchess County, New York with my wife, commuting daily into Manhattan. The train ride allows me time to practice poetry as well.

When you create, what inspires you?

Light. Shadows. Water. The play of light and shadows on water.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

“Dancing Silver” arose from a walk on the beach on a summer morning, with a dazzling shimmer of early light on the breaking waves. My first impression was of dancing, in all its forms.

What is your medium of choice?

I prefer poetry over fiction, but I write in both formal and free verse. Why? I think poetry forces a concentration of thought and is best suited to distill a feeling or impression into something powerful and immediate. I do believe that form follows content, so certain poems, because of their subject matter, shape themselves into sonnets, for example.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I have been writing poetry since I was eight, so since then.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?

Identification and empathy first come to mind.

Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.

I am currently immersed in Diane Di Prima’s “Recollections of My Life as a Woman.” I strongly recommend it to anyone brave enough to take the Vow to Poetry.

srobe444@gmail.com


Get your copy of issue 11!

One thought on “Interview – Stephen Thomas Roberts

  1. Pingback: issue 11 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

