interviews

Interview – Thomas Dedola

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Thomas and I am currently based in Cambridge.

When you create, what inspires you?

I like to try and dig the extraordinary out from the ordinary, out of the humdrum of everyday life. I also like to translate the chaos from the world around into something legible.

Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.

With ‘To Clara, After the Picnic’ far too many details are autobiographical. I think back on that time and can only remember the intensity of it. This piece came from trying to place that memory on paper.

What is your medium of choice? Why?

I tend to favour poetry and short stories – brevity is key. I enjoy expressing as much as I can and getting a message across in the fewest words possible.

How did you first discover your love for creating?

I’ve always been a keen writer from a young age, fuelled by a natural inquisitiveness about the world around me.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?

It’s mostly with the smallest and simplest things about others we often take for granted.

tom.dedola@hotmail.it


Get your copy of issue 11!

Leave a Reply

