interviews

Interview – Edilson Afonso Ferreira

See Edilson’s first interview with us here.

Any new items in your life?

Since my last interview, two months later, I got in touch with Olympia Publishers, London, UK, in view of publish my first Poetry Book. My book will contain 94 poems selected among my best and it is scheduled for release in 2018. Being me at now 73 years old, probably it will be my first and also my last.

Tell us a bit about your working process.

As I am a retired Bank employee, writing is a job which I do more or less as a hobby, having not a regular work schedule. But I do it with much love and dedication, trying to be as professional as possible, with respect and reverence to the readers. Because of this, I think, I have achieved some success as a poet.

What artists/writers do you admire?

Emily Dickinson, Sara Teasdale, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Louise Bogan, Edgard Allan Poe, William Wordsworth, Robert Frost, Robinson Jeffers, Leon Tolstoy, W. B. Yeats, Dostoyevsky, John Steinbeck.

Why create?

I always loved poetry. When I worked at a Bank, never had stopped to read, and, after retirement, I begun to do what from so long I dreamed – put away my feelings, hoping that my verses would make some good to people. A painter must paint, a poet, write.

Do you prefer writing/creating art about ‘attraction’ more than ‘anger?’ Why or why not?

Really, I prefer writing about any feelings, attraction or anger, as I wrote before; because they are common to the human race, found in all days of our life.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Do what you love, even if you’re not the best.

fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?

Attraction is the noblest feeling of humans, for it is born from desire and leads to love, which gives to the world a route and a sense to the happiness and well-being that all of us are pursuing.

edilsonmeloferreira@gmail.com
edilsonmeloferreira.com


Get your copy of issue 11!

One thought on “Interview – Edilson Afonso Ferreira

  1. Pingback: issue 11 artists | fēlan

Leave a Reply

