interviews

Interview – Lisa Mar

Please tell us a bit about yourself.
I am Lisa Mar, a graduate at the University of Washington with a BA in Interdisciplinary Visual Arts.  As your typical art grad, I struggle to find a balance with my passion for the arts and my adult responsibilities (aka pay the bills). I took a break from producing art after graduation, and I somehow managed to pick up my brush again to be here today.
When you create, what inspires you?
I am not the type of person to be inspired by a person, but I do get inspired by the little things in life. Whether it be eating breakfast alone on Sunday, taking a stroll outside, or cleaning up my room, something always tends to pop up in my mind. The old feelings of nostalgia from memories, or new ideas from new surroundings resurfaces from time to time.
Tell us about the specific inspiration behind one or each of your accepted pieces.
I was inspired by food. Food tends to be a common favorite in my pieces. I am especially drawn to the drippings of when one bites into a juicy fruit. Hence, the woman in my piece stares at the viewer as she devours her tomato. I use her eyes to communicate with the viewer.
What is your medium of choice? Why?
My medium of choice is watercolor and ink. In school, my classes focused more on the fine arts of painting. I used a lot of oil paint, and I never used watercolors. The act of using a new medium seems daunting, but it makes myself want to try and venture out even more.
How did you first discover your love for creating?
When I was shortly born and enjoyed drawing on my parent’s white painted walls with red sharpie.
fēlan is old English for feel. What makes you feel attraction?
Eyes to me are attraction. Whether it be in an inanimate painting of a person, or a live person—it is such a strong focal point. The feelings are just overflowing.
Please feel free to add anything else you think is relevant.
Do what you love so you can you feel like you are living again.
lcmarart@gmail.com
instagram: @lcmarart

Get your copy of issue 11!

Leave a Reply

